Why should I grow up?

How To Watch The 13 X-Men Movies In Order

0 317

I did the Watch Wolverine Movies In The Correct Order previously. This time, it is about X-Men movies. A short guide to watching all the X-Men movies in order.

Things were simple when the X-Men movies started in the year 2000. You have the X-Men, X-Men 2, and X-Men: The Last Stand, which formed the beginning, middle, and end of a standalone trilogy. Very much like the Dark Knight trilogy.

Then, of course, Fox wanted to make money, a lucrative franchise like the X-Men should not stop after just three movies. So, in 2009, Hugh Jackman returned in an origin story for the X-Men’s most popular character, Wolverine. If you know nothing about Wolverine, start with this first.

Since then, there are sequels, prequels, reboots, and spin-offs. There was never a clear road map, but what you get are various inconsistencies and plot holes. All these kept the franchise fresh and fun but complicated. I don’t think anyone would be able to explain its continuity clearly.

If you are looking to watch the X-Men movies but unsure which order to go in, I have put together a handy guide.

The best is to watch it in the chronological order of events within the films. Just ignore when or by whom each film was made and enjoy it chronologically.

Here’s how to watch the X-Men movies in order.

  • X-Men First Class (1962)
  • X-Men: Days of Future Past (1973)
  • X-Men Origins: Wolverine (1979)
  • X-Men: Apocalypse (1983)
  • Dark Phoenix (1992)
  • X-Men (2000)
  • X2: X-Men United (2003)
  • X-Men: The Last Stand (2006)
  • The Wolverine (2013)
  • Deadpool (2016)
  • The New Mutants (2017)
  • Deadpool 2 (2018)
  • Logan (2029)

However … yes, there is still one thing to consider.

X-Men First Class takes place in the year 1962. The X-Men Origins: Wolverine largely takes place in 1979, although the storyline begins all the way back to 1845 when Wolverine’s powers first manifest.

x-men movies days of the future past

Putting X-Men: Days of Future Past between them is a bit tricky. The movie takes place in the year 1973 and simultaneously in the year 2023. Where the future Wolverine is sent back to 1973 to prevent Bolivar Trask from using Mystique’s DNA to create the indestructible Sentinels.

You can watch Days of Future Past second for its 1973 setting, or you can watch it last to see how it erased X-Men, X2, and X-Men: The Last Stand and also The Wolverine and everything.

I mean everything because The Wolverine is about Logan wrestling with the trauma of Jean Grey’s death in X2. Jean Grey is still alive when Wolverine awakens at the school in 2023 in the Days of Future Past.

Which also means Logan in 2029 didn’t happen. It’s weird.

X-Men Movies In Release Date Order

If you like to watch the X-Men movies in the release order, then you can follow this list:

  • X-Men (2000)
  • X2: X-Men United (2003)
  • X-Men: The Last Stand (2006)
  • X-Men Origins: Wolverine (2009)
  • X-Men: First Class (2011)
  • The Wolverine (2013)
  • X-Men: Days of Future Past (2014)
  • Deadpool (2016)
  • X-Men: Apocalypse (2016)
  • Logan (2017)
  • Deadpool 2 (2018)
  • X-Men: Dark Phoenix (2019)
  • The New Mutants (2020)      

Disney finalized the purchase of 21st Century Fox in March 2019. With the reset of the X-Men franchise by X-Men: Days of Future Past, please expect to see the X-Men fighting alongside the Avengers and the Guardians of the Galaxy in the future.

Read Facts About Wolverine’ss Claws and the Ultimate Buying Guide for X-men Collectibles.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More